List of Approved Weekend Workshops for SY2015-2016

 

APRIL

Date: April 9-10
School: Concordia International School Shanghai

Title: Teaching and Learning History
Consultant: Dr. Bob Bain, University of Michigan
Coordinator: Mike Burns, mike.burns@concordiashanghai.org
» Download Flyer

Date: April 23-24
School: Teda International School

Title: Transforming Your Classroom
Consultant: Kim Cofino
Coordinator: Peter Guillot, peterg@tedais.org
» Visit website for information and registration

MAY

Date: May 7-8
School: International School Suva

Title: Themes in Education
Consultant: IS Suva teachers
Coordinator: Anna Marsden, amarsden@international.school.fj

Date: May 21-22
School: UWCSEA

Title: Engaging Youth with Decision-making and Leadership
Consultant: Chris Spetzler
Coordinator: Caroline Meek, centre@uwcsea.edu.sg
Credit: SUNY
» visit website

 

 

 

 

FINISHED WEEKEND WORKSHOPS

AUGUST

Date: Aug 22-23
School: Korea International School

Title: Proficiency Based Learning in the World Language Classroom
Consultant: Megan Smith and Kara Parker
Coordinator: Traci Osterhagen Brock, tosterhagen@kis.or.kr
» Download Flyer

Date: Aug 29-30
School: Brent International School Subic

Title: Assessment strategies for 21st Century Learners
Coordinator: Lianne Dominguez, ldominguez@brentsubic.edu.ph
» visit Flyer and Registration Form

SEPTEMBER

Date: Sept 5-6
School: American International School of Guangzhou

Title: Reading Non-fiction across the curriculum in MS/HS
Consultant: Stevi Quate
Coordinator: Jill Watson, jwatson@aisgz.org
Credit: SUNY
» visit website

Date: Sept 5-6
School: Saigon South International School

Title: Transforming Student Learning
Consultant: Kim Cofino
Coordinator: Tina Fossgreen, tfossgreen@ssis.edu.vn
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer

Date: Sept 5-6
School: St. Mary’s International School, Tokyo Japan

Title: “Think BIG, Start Small: Daily Differentiation in a Brain-Friendly Classroom”
Consultant: Martha Kaufeldt
Coordinator: Daniel Sharp, Sharpd@smis.ac.jp
Credit: SUNY
visit website

Date: Sept 11-12
School: Morrison Academy

Title: Introducing Reading & Writing Workshop at the Secondary Level
Consultant: Stevi Quate
Coordinator: Missy Basnett, basnettm@mca.org.tw
Credit: SUNY
» visit website

Date: Sept 12-13
School: Shanghai American School

Title: Designing a health and wellness program to meet the unique needs of the international student.
Consultant: Amy Lauren Smith and Leah Hefte
Coordinator: Janet Claassen, janet.claassen@saschina.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Date: Sept 12-13
School: International School Eastern Seaboard

Title: From Basics to Blast-off: Getting Going with Writing Workshop
Consultant: Scott Riley
Coordinator: Kristen Knudsen, kknudsen@ise.ac.th
Credit: SUNY

Date: Sept 19-20
School: International Christian School

Title: Next Generation Science Standards
Consultant: Kirk Robbins
Coordinator: Kathie Bergsma Glenn, glennk@ics.edu.hk
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer
» To sign up for the workshop, please find the Google form HERE.

 

SEPTEMBER

Date: Sept 26-27
School: Tokyo International School

Title: Inquiry Mathematics: Research Based Strategies Which Maximize Student Learning
Consultant: Mignon Weckert
Coordinator: Christopher Frost, cfrost@tokyois.com
» Download Flyer

Date: Sept 26-27
School: NIST International School

Title: Compass Education Level 1: Thinking, Learning and Acting for a Flourishing and Sustainable World/ Level 2: Applying Systems Thinking for Sustainability School Transformation
Consultant: Teresa Tung and Mike Johnston
Coordinator: Maija Ruokanen, mruokanen@nist.ac.th

OCTOBER

Date: Oct 3-4
School: American School in Taichung

Title: Writing Across the Disciplines: Frameworks and Flow
Consultant: Scott Riley
Coordinator: Michael Wiles, atung@ast.tc.edu.tw, mwiles@ast.tc.edu.tw / Annie Tung, atung@ast.tc.edu.tw
Credit: SUNY
» visit website

Date: Oct 10-11
School: International School of Bangkok

Title: Social and Emotional Learning in Schools
Consultant: Vicki Zakrezewski
Coordinator: Bronwyn Weale, bronwynw@isb.ac.th
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer

Date: Oct 10-11
School: Ruamrudee International School

Title: Creating Strong Writers with the 6+1 Traits of Writing - An Introduction
Consultant: Madeleine Bystrom
Coordinator: Madeleine Bystrom, madeleineb@rism.ac.th
Credit: SDSU
» Download 6+1 Traits Flyer
» Registration form for 6+1 Traits

Date: Oct 17-18
School: Concordia International School Shanghai

Title: Incorporating scientific and engineering practices in the science classroom: POGIL (Process Oriented Guided Inquiry Learning) strategies
Consultant: Mare Sullivan
Coordinator: Anne Love, anne.love@concordiashanghai.org
» Download Flyer

Date: Oct 17-18
School: Shanghai American School

Title: Child Protection in Your School: Building a Comprehensive Program
Consultant: John Everett and Karen Kinsella
Coordinator: Janet Claassen, janet.claassen@saschina.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Date: Oct 17-18
School: International School Manila

Title: Cultural Weeding - Library Innovation
Consultant: Kevin Hennah
Coordinator: Sam Cook, cooks@ismanila.org
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer

Date: Oct 24-25
School: Cebu International School

Title: Collaborating for Integration and Differentiation
Consultant: Dr. Virginia P. Rojas
Coordinator: Adela Mae Martinez - Alguno, earcosrep@cis.edu.ph
» Download Flyer
» visit website

NOVEMBER

Date: Nov 6-7 (REGISTRATION CLOSED)
School: Taipei American School

Title: Tech-Integrated Libraries: Building the Future One Service at a Time
Consultant: Dr. Candace Aiani
Coordinator: Peter Kimball, kimballp@tas.edu.tw
Credit: SUNY

Date: Nov 7-8
School: Jakarta Intercultural School

Title: Structured Word Inquiry: Developing literacy and critical thinking through scientific inquiry about how English spelling works, research and practice
Consultant: Pete Bowers
Coordinator: Murray Hodgson, mhodgson@jisedu.or.id
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer and Registration

Date: Nov 7-8
School: Shanghai Community International School -ECE

Title: Early Years Literacy
Consultant: Matthew Glover
Coordinator: Heather Knight, hknight@scischina.org
» Download Flyer

Date: Nov 13-14
School: Taipei American School

Title: Using Technology to Effective Reach Every Learner
Consultant: Greg O'Connor
Coordinator: Peter Kimball, kimballp@tas.edu.tw
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer | Registration Form

Date: Nov 14-15
School: Ruamrudee International School

Title: Foundations in Math: Developing Mathematical Thinking and Conceptual Understanding in Grades Kg-2
Consultant: Sara Garrett
Coordinator: Madeleine Bystrom, madeleineb@rism.ac.th
Credit: SDSU
» Download Flyer
» Registration Form

Date: Nov 21-22
School: UWCSEA

Title: Education for a Sustainable Future
Consultant: Mike Johnston
Coordinator: Caroline Meek, centre@uwcsea.edu.sg
Credit: SUNY
» visit website

Date: Nov 21-22
School: NIST International School

Title: Service Projects from Needs Analysis to Completion
Consultant: Andy Dorn, Rick Hannah, Graham Harper
Coordinator: Maija Ruokanen, mruokanen@nist.ac.th

Date: Nov 21-22
School: Thai-Chinese International School

Title: Elementary innovation: transforming every lesson with digital media
Consultant: Sean Thompson and Brady Cline
Coordinator: Yi-Ling Chu, yiling@tcis.ac.th
» Download Flyer

Date: Nov 28-29
School: Suzhou Singapore International School

Title: Giving Effective Feedback to your Students
Consultant: Richard Bruford
Coordinator: Renee Rehfeldt, reneerehfeldt@ssis-suzhou.net
» Download Flyer
» Registration

January 2016

Date: Jan 16-17
School: Yokohama International School

Title: Using Maker Spaces to Build a Culture of Design Thinking
Consultant: John Rinker
Coordinator: Leanne Erickson, ericksonl@yis.ac.jp
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer

Date: Jan 16-17
School: Shanghai American School

Title: Flourishing in Schools: Utilizing groundbreaking research and tools from positive psychology to improve student’s wellbeing.
Consultant: Shaun McElroy
Coordinator: Janet Claassen, janet.claassen@saschina.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Date: Jan 16-17
School: International School of Kuala Lumpur

Title: Service Learning
Consultant: Cathryn Berger Kaye
Coordinator: Rami Madani, rmadani@iskl.edu.my
Credit: SUNY

Date: Jan 16-17
School: Brent International School Manila

Title: Elementary Assessment
Coordinator: Reverend Charles W. Mock, jmock@brent.edu.ph
Consultant: Faye Brownlie
» Downlaod Flyer

Date: Jan 16-17
School: Thai - Chinese International School

Title: Leveraging technology and Innovative strategies in the Math Classroom
Consultant: Wesley Przybylski
Coordinator: Yi-Ling Chu, yiling@tcis.ac.th
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Date: Jan 16-17
School: Shekou International School

Title: Inquiry and Assessment for Learning, Pre-K through 2
Consultant: Holly Reardon
Coordinator: Carlene Hamley, chamley@sis.org.cn
» visit website for registration

Date: Jan 22-23
School: American International School of Guangzhou

Title: Mobile Learning. Mobile Devices
Consultant: Dana Watts
Coordinator: Jill Watson, jwatson@aisgz.org
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer
For further information and to register, visit: http://ramlog.aisgz.org/mobile

Date: Jan 23-24
School: International School of Beijing
(Registration Full)
Title: Making Thinking Visible
Consultant: Mark Church
Coordinator: Stacy Stephens, SStephens@isb.bj.edu.cn
Credit: SUNY

Date: Jan 23-24
School: Brent International School Manila

Title: Assessment in Middle School and Upper School
Consultant: Faye Brownlie
Coordinator: Reverend Charles W. Mock, jmock@brent.edu.ph
» Download Flyer | Registration

Date: Jan 23-24
School: International School of Bangkok

Title: Gifted education and reaching highly able learners
Consultant: Bronwyn MacLeod
Coordinator: Bronwyn Weale, bronwynw@isb.ac.th
Credit: SUNY
» Download Flyer

Date: Jan 23-24
School: Singapore American School

Title: Integrating Service Learning Into Curriculum
Consultant: Cathy Berger Kaye
Coordinator: Treena Casey, tcasey@sas.edu.sg
» Download Flyer | Registration

Date: Jan 30-31
School: International School Manila

Title: Writing Workshops and Close Reading in the Inquiry Classroom
Consultant: Kathy Collins
Coordinator: Sam Cook, cooks@ismanila.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration site


FEBRUARY

Date: Feb 13-14
School: Korea International School Jeju

Title: Differentiated Activities and Assessments Using the Common Core Standards
Consultant: Carolyn Coil
Coordinator: Yvonne Pledger, ypledger@kis.ac
» Download Flyer | Registration form

Date: Feb 13-14
School: Bali Island School

Title: Growing Global Citizens (new dates)
Consultant: Deidre Fischer and Kenny Peavy
Coordinator: Sakina Brik, earcosrep@baliis.net
Credit SUNY
» Download Flyer | visit website

Date: Feb 20-21
School: International School Manila

Title: Literacy Institute
Consultant: Bonnie Singer
Coordinator: Sam Cook, cooks@ismanila.org
Credit: SUNY
» Website | Flyer | Registration Page

Date: Feb 20-21
School: Bandung Independent School Indonesia

Title: Inquiry-based Maths learning and teaching in the Primary Years
Consultant: Mignon Weckert
Coordinator: Mary Collins, elementaryprincipal@bisedu.or.id
Information for participants
Registration form
Workshop overview

Date: Feb 27-28
School: Busan International Foreign School

Title: Supporting Language Learners through differentiation
Consultant: Virginia Rojas
Coordinator: Daun Yorke, dyorke@bifskorea.org

MARCH

Date: March 4-6
School: Korea International School Jeju

Title: 4th Annual KISCA Conference 2016
» visit website | Download Flyer

Date: March 18-19
School: Seisen International School

Title: Music in the Integrated Curriculum
Consultant: Doug Goodkin
Coordinator: Nate Gildart, ngildart@seisen.com
» visit website | Download Flyer