Partial list of Approved Weekend Workshops for SY2016-2017

One of the services EARCOS provides to its member schools throughout the year is the sponsorship of two-day workshops and institutes for faculty and administration. The topics for these workshops are determined according to the needs of members. Workshops are hosted by EARCOS schools.

 

FEBRUARY 2017

Feb. 18-19
Intercultural School of Bogor

Title: Making Sense of Spelling: An Orthographic Journey
Consultant: Lynette Anderson
Coordinator: Michael Robertson, principal@isbogor.org
» Download Flyer

Feb. 25-26
American International School of Guangzhou

Title: Engaging Adolescent Readers and Writers
Consultant: Penny Kittle
Coordinator: Jill Watson, jwatson@aisgz.org
» Download Flyer and Registration information

Feb. 25-26
Thai-Chinese International School

Title: Teaching the i-Student at International Schools: Intergrating Media and Technology into Chinese Classroom
Consultant: Liang-Kuang Chen (Kevin)
Coordinator: Yi-Ling Chu, yiling@tcis.ac.th
» Download Flyer
» Registration Form

Feb. 25-26
Bandung Independent School

Title: “Supporting the Needs of English Language Learners”
Consultant: Kath Upshall
Coordinator: Mary Collins, elementaryprincipal@bisedu.or.id
» Information for participants
» Registration Form
» Workshop agenda

 

MARCH

Mar. 3-5
Singapore American School

Middle School Leadership Conference 2017
Coordinator: Lauren Mehrbach, lmehrbach@sas.edu.sg
» visit website

Mar. 2-5
Chadwick International

Title: Teacher Leadership in the 21st Century
Consultant: Maxine Driscoll
Coordinator: Marieke Van Lankvelt, mvanlankvelt@chadwickschool.org
» visit website

Mar. 4-5
Tokyo International School (Registration Full)

Title: Building Learning ‘Assets’ Through Inquiry
Consultant: Kath Murdoch
Coordinator: Stacey Isomura, sisomura@tokyois.com
» Download Flyer

Mar. 11-12
Phuket International Academy School

Title: Differentiation and assessment strategies for ESOL learners within the classroom from K - 12
Consultant: Virginia Rojas
Coordinator: Justine Olsen, justine.olsen@pia.ac.th
» Download Flyer

Mar. 11-12
Jakarta Intercultural School
(REGISTRATION FULL)
Title: Inquiry Mathematics: Research Based Strategies to Improve Student Learning
Consultant: Mignon Weckert
Coordinator: Rosie Upson, rupson@jisedu.or.id
» Visit website

Mar. 18-19
The International School Yangon

Title: Effective Strategies for the Instructional Leader
Consultant: Deron Marvin
Coordinator: Laurie Ransom, Lransom@isyedu.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Mar. 25-26
Brent International School Manila

Title: Empowering Learners Through Assessment
Consultant: Bambi Betts
Coordinator: Rev. Charles Mock, jmock@brent.edu.ph
» Download Flyer

 

APRIL

Apr 8-9
Canadian Academy, Kobe, Japan (Registration Full)

Title: Cultures of Thinking (Harvard Project Zero)
Consultant: Ron Ritchart
Coordinator: Stephen Taylo, staylor@canacad.ac.jp
» Visit website

Apr. 21-22
Concordia International School Hanoi and UNIS

Title: EAL Students and Blended Learning
Consultant: Virginia Rojas
Coordinator: Sharon L. Voss and Susan Cieslak, sharon.voss@concordiahanoi.org
» Visit website

 

Others

 

TBA
ES Principal

Canggu Community School
Coordinator: Sarah Wirawan, wbowers@ccsbali.com

TBA
MS Leadership Conference

Singapore American School
Coordinator: Lauren Mehrbach, lmehrbach@sas.edu.sg

 

FINISHED WORKSHOPS


AUGUST

August 27-28
Brent International School Subic

Title: Collaborative Skills and Practices To Enhance Student Learning: A Tool for Setting up PLC's and Traning Middle Level Leaders
Consultant: Margaret Maclean
Coordinator: Lianne Dominguez, ldominguez@brentsubic.edu.ph
» visit website

 

SEPTEMBER

Sept. 2-3
Concordia International School Hanoi

Title: Using Reading and Writing Workshop (TCRWP) to Improve Literacy Instruction
Consultant: Kasey Perry
Coordinator: Kristin Kappelmann, esprincipal@concordiahanoi.org
» Download Flyer (REGISTRATION CLOSED)

Sept. 3
Nagoya International School

Title: Collaborative Skills and Practices to Enhance Student Learning
Consultant: Margaret McLean
Coordinator: Luci Willis, lwillis@nagoyais.net
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Sept. 3-4
Hong Kong Academy

Title: Developing Opportunities for Action within the Curriculum
Consultant: Peter Muir
Coordinator: Kitty Lau, kitty.lau@hkacademy.edu.hk
» Registration Form
» Download Flyer

Sept. 9-10
Morrison Academy

Title: Practical Strategies for Making Math Truly Work for All Students: A two-day workshop for teachers of mathematics in grades 4-8
Consultant: Steve Leinwand
Coordinator: Missy Basnett, basnettm@mca.org.tw
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Sept. 10-11
International School Eastern Seaboard (ISE)

Title: “From Basics to Blastoff” Getting started with Reader’s Workshop
Consultant: Scott Riley and Anne Marie Chow
Coordinator: Kristen Knudsen, kknudsen@ise.ac.th
» Download Flyer and registration form

Sept. 10-11
Wells International School

Title: Compass Education for Sustainability
Consultant: Hsin Yi Chen
Coordinator: Ray De La Pena, ray@wells-school.com

Sept. 10-11
Kaohsiung American School

Title: ELL in the Mainstream Classroom
Consultant: Eric Smith
Coordinator: Carmen Peters, cpeters@kas.kh.edu.tw

Sept. 16-17
Taipei American School

Title: Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Bringing Great Ideas From School to Life
Consultant: Anthony Ives, Matthew Fagen, and Leanne Rainbow
Coordinator: Peter Kimball, kimballp@tas.edu.tw
» Download Flyer
Registration Link

Sept. 24-25
Hong Kong International School

Title: Reimagining Science & Engineering with NGSS & 3 Dimensional Learning
Consultant: Wendy Smith, wsmith@hkis.edu.hk
Coordinator: Don Drake, ddrake@hkis.edu.hk
» Download flyer & travel logistics
» Registration link

Sept. 24-25
Suzhou Singapore International School

Title: Literacy across the curriculum: Every Teacher is a Language Teacher
Consultant: Renee Rehfeldt and Richard Bruford
Coordinator: Renee Rehfeldt, reneerehfeldt@ssis-suzhou.net
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Sept. 24-25
Xiamen International
School
Title: Collaborative Skills and Practices to Enhance Student Learning
Consultant: Margaret MacLean
Coordinator: Peter Burnside, peterburnside@xischina.com.cn
» Download Flyer and Registration

OCTOBER

Oct. 1-2
United World College of South East Asia

Title: Emotional Intelligence in the Classroom
Consultant: Sarah Whyte
Coordinator: Caroline Meek, centre@uwcsea.edu.sg

Oct. 8-9
American School in Taichung

Title: Curriculum Development: How can our planning enhance our teaching?
Consultant: Rami Madani
Coordinator: Annie Tung, atung@ast.tc.edu.tw
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Oct. 8-9
Busan International Foreign School

Title: Hiring the Best Teachers
Consultant: James Stronge
Coordinator: Leda Cedo, ledacedo@bifskorea.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Oct. 15-16
Brent International School Manila

Title: Solving the Assessment Puzzle: Making Assessment Understandable for All
Consultant: Carolyn Coil
Coordinator: Rev. Charles Mock, jmock@brent.edu.ph
» Download Flyer

Oct. 22-23
United Nations International School - Hanoi

Title: “Building students’ agency, self-advocacy and their ability to take responsibility for their own learning.”
Consultant: Dr. Fran Prolman
Coordinator: Megan Brazil, esprincipal@unishanoi.org
» visit website

Oct. 22-23
The American School in Japan

Title: Kinesthetic Classroom Workshop
Consultant: Michael Kuczala
Coordinator: Paul Oneill, poneill@asij.ac.jp
» Download Flyer

Oct. 29-30
International School Beijing

Consultant: Tania Lattanzio
Title: Moving from Traditional Pedagogy to Inquiry
Coordinator: Stacy Stephens, sstephens@isb.bj.edu.cn
» Download Flyer (Registration closed)

NOVEMBER

Nov. 5-6
Bali Island School

Title: Management 101 - A Practical Approach
Consultant: Deidre Fischer
Coordinator: Gary Brown, earcosrep@baliis.net
» Registration

Nov. 5-6
Mont Kiara International School

Title: Teaching, Learning, and Assessing the Common Core Social Studies Nonfiction Literacy Standards
Consultant: Robert Pierce, Ph.D.
Coordinator: Paul Henderson, p.henderson@mkis.edu.my
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Nov. 12-13
Seisen International School

Title: Going Deeper with Social Media in Teaching and Learning
Consultant: Alec Couros (http://educationaltechnology.ca/couros/)
Coordinator: Nate Gildart, ngildart@seisen.com
» visit website

Nov. 12-13
Taipei American School

Title: Circle Painting - Putting the A in STEAM
Consultant: Hiep Nguyen
Coordinator: Peter Kimball, kimballp@tas.tw
» Download Flyer
» Registration

Nov. 12-13
International School Bangkok

Title: Understanding by Design
Consultant: Elizabeth Rossini Ph.D.
Coordinator: Elizabeth Rossini, elizabethr@isb.ac.th
» Download Flyer

Nov. 12-13
International School Manila

Title: Essential of Writing Workshop in K-6 Classrooms
Consultant: Matt Glover
Coordinator: Sam Cook, cooks@ismanila.org
» Download Flyer

Nov. 14-20
Western Academy Beijing

Title: Thinking Collaborative Adaptive Schools Training (Days 1-4)
Coordinator: Holly Bowen Reardon, Holly_reardon@wab.edu
» Download Flyer

Nov. 22-24
Chiang Mai International School

Title:Focus, Coherence, and Rigor in Mathematics Workshop
Consultant:Melissa Hosten
Coordinator: Chris Capadona, ccapadona@cmis.ac.th
» Download Flyer

Nov. 26-27
The International School of Kuala Lumpur

Title: Tough Conversations. Managing Ourselves - Supporting Others
Consultant: Rob Whiting
Coordinator: Rami Madani, rmadani@iskl.edu.my

JANUARY 2017


Jan. 28-29
Ruamrudee International School

Title: Foundations in Math: Developing Mathematical Thinking and Conceptual Understanding in Grades Kg-5
Consultant: Sara Garrett
Coordinator: Madeleine Bystrom, madeleineb@rism.ac.th
» Download Flyer
» Registration Form


Jan. 21-22
The International School Yangon

Title: Re-Envisioning World Languages for 21st Century Learners
Consultant: Greg Duncan
Coordinator: Laurie Ransom, Lransom@isyedu.org
» Download Flyer
» Registration Form