Partial list of Approved Professional Learning Weekend for SY2017-2018

One of the services EARCOS provides to its member schools throughout the year is the sponsorship of two-day workshops and institutes for faculty and administration. The topics for these workshops are determined according to the needs of members. Workshops are hosted by EARCOS schools.

 

JANUARY 2018

Jan 20-21
School: Yangon International School
Title: The Writing Workshop: Creating a Community of Writers

Credit:
Consultant: Laurie Ransom
Coordinator: Dr. Brook MacNamara
Email: bmacnamara@yismyanmar.com
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

Jan 27-28
School: International School Manila
Title: Healthy Minds

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Tom Nehmy
Coordinator: Samuel Cook
Email: cooks@ismanila.org
>> Download Flyer
>> Download Flyer for non Google countries

January 20-21
School: Shanghai American School
Title: Understanding by Design (UbD)

Consultant: Jay McTighe
Coordinator: Janet Claassen
Email: janet.claassen@saschina.org
>> Registration
>> Download Flyer

FEBRUARY 2018

Feb 3-4
School: Tokyo International School
Title: Approaches to Learning

Credit:
Consultant: Lance King
Coordinator: Stacey Isomura
Email: staceyis@tokyois.com

Feb 17-18
School: Nagoya International School
Title: Developing Opportunities for Action within the Curriculum

Consultant: Peter Muir
Coordinator: Luci Willis
Email: lwillis@nis.ac.jp

Feb 17-18 (A U.S. Office of Overseas Schools Sponsored Professional Learning Weekend)
School: The International School Yangon
Title: Inclusive Education: Strategies and Practices to Support Students with Special Needs

Consultant: Belinda Dunnick Karge, PhD.
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

 

MARCH 2018

Mar 2-3
School: Thai Chinese International School
Title: Strategic Planning: Survival Guide for School Leaders and Board members

Credit:
Consultant: Dr. Steven E. Ballowe; WAGOR (Taiwan) International Schools
Coordinator: Dr. John McGrath
Email: john.mcgrath@tcis.ac.th
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration
>> Visit Website

Mar 3-4
School: United World College of South East Asia
Title: Instructional Strategies that Engage and Assess

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: John Zola
Coordinator: Caroline Meek
Email: centre@uwcsea.edu.sg
>> visit website

Mar 10-11
School: Seisen International School
Title: An Inquiry Approach to Teaching and Learning in Mathematics: Research Based Strategies to Improve Student Learning

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Ms. Mignon Weckert
Coordinator: Catherine Beswick
Email: cbeswick@seisen.com
>> Registration

Mar 10-11
School: Brent International School Manila
Title: Transforming Your Classroom

Consultant: Kim Cofino
Coordinator: Rev. Charles Mock
Email: jmock@brent.edu.ph
>> visit website
>> Registration

 

APRIL 2018

April 6-7
School: Canggu Community School
Title: Visible Thinking in the Primary School

Credit:
Consultant: Aaron Downey and Claire Dusting
Coordinator: Warren Bowers
Email: wbowers@ccsbali.com
>> Download Flyer

April 7-8
School: Surabaya Intercultural School
Title: Connecting Mathematics to the World Around Us

Credit:
Consultant: Ron Lancaster
Coordinator: Matthew Gaetano
Email: mgaetano@sis.sch.id

April 13-14
School: 2018 EARCOS Middle School Leadership Conference
Theme: "Preparing Young Adolescents For Their World"

Shanghai American School, Pudong Campus
Coordinator: Becky A.S. Read, Middle School Principal
Email: Becky.Read@saschina.org

April 21-22
School: Hong Kong International School
Title: Designing an Assessment System to Measure Three-Dimensional Science Learning (Elementary and Middle School Teachers)

Consultant: Wendy Smith
Coordinator: Don Drake
Email: ddrake@hkis.edu.hk
>> Information Sheet
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

April 21-22
School: Suzhou Singapore International School
Title: Supporting Students with the demands of Summative Assessment: Transferrable skills for Student Wellbeing

Credit:
Consultant: Richard Bruford
Coordinator: Renee Rehfeldt
Email: reneerehfeldt@ssis-suzhou.net
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

 

 

Finished EARCOS Professional Learning Weekend

Aug 19-20
School: Korea International School
Title: Sustainable Service Learning Model

Credit:
Consultant: Joe Brooks
Coordinator: Ryan Persaud
Email: rpersaud@kis.or.kr
>> Download Flyer

Aug 26-27
School: Medan Independent School
Title: Seeking, Finding and Using Technology to Improve Student Learning

Credit:
Consultant: Michael Boll
Coordinator: Gerald Donovan
Email: gerald@mismedan.org

Aug 26-27
School: Surabaya Intercultural School
Title: Science Inquiry, STEM

Credit:
Consultant: John Stiles
Coordinator: Matthew Gaetano
Email: mgaetano@sis.sch.id
>> Visit website

SEPTEMBER

Sept 9-10
School: Bali Island School
Title: Teaching with ATL in Mind

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Lance King
Coordinator: Gary Brown
Email: gbrown@baliis.net
>> Download Flyer

Sept 9-10
School: Northbridge International School, Cambodia
Title: Compass Level 1

Credit:
Consultant: Robert Steele
Coordinator: Kathryn M O Connell
Email: kathryn_oconnell@nisc.edu.kh
Website: Click here
>> Registration

Sept 16-17
School: Daegu International School
Title: Seven Strategies for Teaching Writing

Credit:
Consultant: Libby Jachles
Coordinator: Scott Jolly
Email: scjolly@dis.sc.kr
>> Download Flyer

Sept 16-17
School: Saint Maur International School
Title: Collaborative Skills and Practices to Enhance Student Learning Session 1

Credit:
Consultant: Margaret Maclean
Coordinator: Annette Levy
Email: alevy@stmaur.ac.jp
>> Download Flyer
(REGISTRATION CLOSED) email alevy@stmaur.ac.jp  to be added on the waiting list.

Sept 16-17
School: Shanghai American School
Title: Project Based Learning (PBL)- An Inquiry Approach to Learning

Credit: Plymouth State University
Consultant: Andrew Miller and Janet Claassen
Coordinator: Janet Claassen
Email: janet.claassen@saschina.org
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

Sept 23-24
School: Hong Kong International
Title: Reimagining Science and Engineering with NGSS & Three Dimensional Learning (Elementary and Middle School Teachers)

Credit:
Consultant: Wendy Smith
Coordinator: Donald Drake
Email: ddrake@hkis.edu.hk
>> Visit website for registration (REGISTRATION CLOSED) email conference@hkis.edu.hk to be added on the waiting list.

Sept 23-24
School: International School Manila
Title: Leadership, Motivation, & Success in Sports (FOR COACHES AND PE TEACHERS)

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Lynn Kachmarik
Coordinator: Sam Cook
Email: cooks@ismanila.org
>> Download Flyer

Sept 23-24
School: Mont'Kiara International School
Title: NGSS & STEM: Getting started @ a medium to small international school

Credit: SDSU
Consultant: Paul Anderson
Coordinator: Paul Henderson
Email: p.henderson@mkis.edu.my
>> Download Flyer

Sept 23-24
School: Nagoya International School
Title: Collaborative Skills and Practices to Enhance Student Learning Session 2

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Margaret Maclean
Coordinator: Luci Willis
Email: lwillis@nis.ac.jp

Sept 23-24
School: The American School of Bangkok
Title: Mindfulness in the Classroom

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Peggy Rowe & Larry Ward
Coordinator: Patrick Maher
Email: pmaher@asb.ac.th
>> Download Flyer

Sept 23-24
School: The International School Yangon
Title: Visible Learning Foundations and How Students Learn

Credit:
Consultant: Dr. Shaun Hawthorne
Coordinator: Laurie Ransom
Email: LRansom@isyedu.org
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

Sept 23-24
School: United World College of South East Asia
Title: Supporting TCKs as a teacher

Credit: SUNY
Consultant: Sarah Whyte
Coordinator: Caroline Meek
Email: centre@uwcsea.edu.sg
>> visit website

Sept 30
School: Jakarta INtercultural School
Title: Inquiry Based Word Study

Consultant: Natashya Hays
Coordinator: Nicholas Kent
Email: nkent@jisedu.or.id
>> Download Flyer

OCTOBER

Oct 7-8
School: American School in Taichung
Title: Learning Focused Instruction and Assessment

Credit:
Consultant: Rami Madani
Coordinator: Annie Tung
Email: atung@ast.tc.edu.tw
>> visit website

Oct 7-8
School: Ruamrudee International School
Title: Foundations in Math: Developing Mathematical Thinking and Conceptual Understanding in Grades K-5

Credit: SDSU
Consultant: Sara Garrett
Coordinator: Madeleine Bystrom
Email: madeleineb@rism.ac.th
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

Oct 14-15
School: Shanghai Americican School
Title: Developing a Health Curriculum in your School

Credit: Plymouth State University
Consultant: Amy Lauren Smith
Coordinator: Janet Claassen
Email: janet.claassen@saschina.org
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration

Oct 20-21
School: Hong Kong Academy
Title: Developing Effective Facilitation and Communication Skills

Credit:
Consultant: Kendall Zoller
Coordinator: Jennifer Swinehart
Email: jennifer.swinehart@hkacademy.edu.hk
>> Download Flyer

Oct 21-22
School: PTIS - Prem Tinsulanonda International School, Chiang Mai
Title: Embedding Service Learning

Credit:
Consultant: Cathryn Berger Kaye
Coordinator: Gina Ryan
Email: ssprincipal@ptis.ac.th

NOVEMBER

Nov 4-5
School: Cebu International School
Title: Active Assessment Through Action Research

Credit:
Consultant: Ian Sutherland
Coordinator: Ma Socorro Laplana
Email: mlaplana@cis.edu.ph
>> Download Flyer

Nov 4-5
School: Canadian Academy
Title: Mathematical tasks to promote mathematical thinking and engagement

Credit:
Consultant: Jim Noble
Coordinator: Stephen Taylor
Email: staylor@canacad.ac.jp
>> Visit website

Nov 11-12
School: UNIS Hanoi
Title: Listening to Learning in the Early Years

Credit:
Consultant: Fiona Zinn
Coordinator: Megan Brazil
Email: esprincipal@unishanoi.org
>> Visit website

Nov 11-12
School: International School Bangkok
Title: Understanding the Needs of Diverse Learners (and what we can do about it)

Credit:
Consultant: Dr. Keith Collins and a team of specialists
Coordinator: Dr. Elizabeth Rossini
Email: elizabethr@isb.ac.th
>> Download Flyer

Nov 11-12
School: Nansha College Preparatory Academy
Title: Using Data to Support Student Wellness and Academic Achievement

Credit:
Consultant: Patrick Love
Coordinator: Peggy Smith
Email: psmith@ncpachina.org
>> Download Flyer
>> NCPA Workshop Schedule

Nov 11-12
School: NIST International School
Title: Compass Education

Credit:
Consultant: Compass Education
Coordinator: Tanya Kumar
Email: tkumar@nist.ac.th

Nov 17-18
School: Bandung Independent School
Title: Learning Technologies

Credit:
Consultant: Jason Graham
Coordinator: Derek Markey
Email: derek.markey@bisedu.or.id
>> Download Flyer
>> Registration
>> Participants information

Nov 18-19
School: Western Academy of Beijing
Title: Service Learning Institute

Consultant: Cathryn Berger Kaye
Coordinator: Huiman Cheng
Email: huiman_cheng@wab.edu
>> Download Flyer

Nov 25-26
School: Chatsworth International School
Title: Compass Education Level 1: Compass Practitioner Thinking, Learning and Acting for a Flourishing and Sustainable World

Credit:
Consultant: Compass Education
Coordinator: Elaine Fong
Email: efong@chatsworth.com.sg

Nov 25-26
School: Shanghai Community International School
Title: Informing Planning, Learning and Inquiry through Assessment

Credit:
Consultant: Tania Lattanzio
Coordinator: Barclay Lelievre
Email: blelievre@scis-china.org
>> Visit website

DECEMBER

Dec 2-3
School: Western Academy of Beijing
Title: Nurturing Writers

Credit:
Consultant: Matt Glover
Coordinator: Katie Knight
Email: katie_knight@wab.edu
>> Download Flyer

Dec 8-9
School: Morrison Academy
Title: Writing Workshop in the Elementary Classroom

Credit:
Consultant: Matt Glover
Coordinator: Missy Basnett
Email: missy.basnett@mca.org.tw
>> Visit website